From Wind Repertory Project
Robert Jager

Robert Jager

Subtitle: In Terra Pax

General Info

Year: 1981
Duration: c. 9:10
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: LudwigMasters
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $45.00   |   Score Only (print) - $5.00


Full Score

C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II, including:

*Bass Drum
*Crash Cymbal
*Suspended Cymbal


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Written following a visit to both the nuclear holocaust "ground zero" of Hiroshima, Japan, and the more conventional holocaust of Pearl Harbor, the opening of this work is meant to capture the solemn and mournful sound of the massive bell at Hiroshima's "ground zero." Remaining melancholy throughout, the composer writes, "The composition, like a prayer, has no answers. Maybe there is no answer. Perhaps a solution must be found within each of us, before there is no longer time."

Litany was commissioned by the Galesburg-Augusta, Mich., High School Band, Martin Benstein, conductor.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Anchorage (Ak.) Community Concert Band (Mark Wolbers, conductor) - 4 December 2022

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Jager, R. (1981). Litany: In Terra Pax [score]. Piedmont Music: New York. N.Y.