Lightning Brigade, The

From Wind Repertory Project
James Barnes

James Barnes

Subtitle: March for Concert Band
This work bears the designation Opus 102, No. 7.

General Info

Year: 2018
Duration: c. 3:00
Difficulty: III-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Southern Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $75.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Lightning Brigade celebrates John T. Wilder, an Indiana historical figure in the Civil War, and his unique mounted infantry brigade that proved themselves decisive in several Western Campaign battles.

The march begins with dramatic bugle-like fanfares, moving quickly into its menacing main theme, where the minor-key melody is carried in the low brass and winds. The B section by contrast is light and breezy, in the relative major led by the upper voices. The music modulates to an unusual key for the trio, accompanied by the galloping brigade in the percussion.

- Program Note from publisher

The dramatically increased mobility and concentrated fire power of Wilder's troops was first demonstrated on June 24, 1862, when his brigade held off a far superior Confederate force for several hours at Hoover's Gap in eastern Tennessee before being relieved by Union infantry. Commanding General George Thomas was so impressed with the result of this engagement that he referred to Wilder's outfit as The Lightning Brigade. The name stuck.

To the Hoosier who was ahead of his time.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works