Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Lighthouse Keeps Watch, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Brooke Pierson

Brooke Pierson

General Info

Year: 2021
Duration: c. 3:50
Difficulty: II-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Music Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $70.00; (digital) - $70.00   |   Score Only (print) - $8.00


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Trombone I-II
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Lighthouse Keeps Watch was written about a lighthouse in South Haven, a coastal community along Lake Michigan. Originally built as a wooden structure in 1872, the structure has been lighting the coast since 1903. This community is also a favorite summer and autumn travel destination for the composer, so he felt it was fitting to write a piece that would connect the community and music through this important landmark.

Commissioned by Sarah Bopp and the Baseline Middle School Concert Band, South Haven, Michigan.

- Program Note from score


  • NBA/Alfred Music Young Band Composer Contest, 2020, winner


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Wayne (Neb.) State College Symphonic Band (Josh Calkin, conductor) - 16 November 2021

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works