Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Latin American Dances No 2

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Clifton Jameson Jones

Clifton Jameson Jones

General Info

Year: 2012
Duration: c. 8:45
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: TRN Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $60.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


1. Salsa – 3:10
2. Bossa Nova – 2:15
3. Rumba – 3:20


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Cabasa
  • Claves
  • Conga
  • Guiro
  • Hi-Hat
  • Marimba
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Latin American Dances 2 is a new suite of three original dances for symphonic band which use dance rhythms from Latin America. The first movement is Salsa, a fast, lively dance which has its origins in Puerto Rico and Cuba. The second movement is a Bossa Nova from the beaches of Brazil, a much more relaxed and quiet style of music. The suite picks up the pace to close with a Rumba from Cuba.

The three dances in this set each use a repeating two-measure claves pattern of 2+3 or 3+2, which is often used in contemporary Latin music. Also, each movement begins with the same five-note motif, beginning on the 5th scale degree of the key (5-6-5-4-5) and then 'spins' out and develops melodic material within the movement.

Latin American Dances 2 was premiered by and is dedicated to the Austin Symphonic Band and its director Richard Floyd.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer