Last Spring, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Edvard Grieg

Edvard Grieg (trans. James Curnow)

General Info

Year: ca. 1880 / 1997
Duration: c. 4:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Curnow Music Press
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $64.00   |   Score Only (print) - $12.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bells
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Edvard Grieg was one of the most important figures during Norway's nationalistic romantic period, and his music well conveys the essence of this beautiful Scandinavian country. The present work for concert band is from Two Elegiac Melodies for String Orchestra and retains all the beauty and solemnity of the original. Evoke the peaceful atmosphere of Grieg's native land with this beautiful, haunting work.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

  • Florida: IV
  • Oklahoma: III-A
  • Tennessee: III
  • Virginia: III


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Grieg, E.; Curnow, J. (1997). The Last Spring [score]. Curnow Music: Lexington, Ky.