Landscapes (Wind Ensemble)

From Wind Repertory Project
Rossano Galante

Rossano Galante

General Info

Year: 2013
Duration: c. 2:30
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Brass quintet
Publisher: Associated Music Publishers, available through Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts - $85.00   |   Score Only - $7.50


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Gong
  • Mark Tree
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This exciting overture features plenty of power and musical depth. Originally a work for brass quintet, it wasn't until many years later that the full band version took shape.

- Program Note from publisher

Although fairly brief in duration, this exciting overture features plenty of power and musical depth. It was originally written for brass quintet, and it wasn’t until many years later that the full band version was written. The opening melody sweeps across the audience, taking each listener on a beautiful journey. One may envision themselves gliding over a vast and open valley or sweeping though a redwood forest. The second section gives way to a soaring melody in the oboe with the gentle trickle of percussive bells. Clarinet and euphonium develop this melody, with trumpets joining in for a triumphant return to the original theme. The ensemble returns with the opening fanfare for a brilliant conclusion to this new and exciting composition.

- Program Note by Kennesaw State University Wind Symphony concert program, 17 April 2018


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Galante, R. (2013). Landscapes [score]. Associated Music Publishers: New York.