Labyrinth of Love

From Wind Repertory Project
Michael Daugherty

Michael Daugherty

Subtitle: For Soprano and Chamber Winds

General Info

Year: 2012
Duration: c. 40:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Bill Holab Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - Rental   |   Score Only (print) - $175.00


Introduction - 0:42
1. In This Strange Labyrinth
2. Eros (Sappho Fragment 47) - 2:02
3. Sonnets from the Portuguese, XIII
4. If I may have it, when it’s dead
5. On the Difficulty of Loving an Invisible God - 4:12
6. Liz’s Lament - 6:56
7. Oh, come to me in dreams, my love! - 4:51
8. Short Talk on the Sensation of Aeroplane Takeoff - 3:30


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute
Oboe/English Horn
B-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
C Trumpet
Horn in F
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I, including:

  • Bongos
  • Castanets
  • Chimes
  • Claves
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Kick Drum
  • Maracas
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Vibra-slap
  • Wind Chimes
  • Wood Block

Soprano voice


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Labyrinth of Love is inspired by the love poetry and prose by eight women: Sappho (612 BC–570 BC; Greek), Lady Mary Wroth (1587–1653; British), Juana Ines de la Cruz (1651–1695; Mexican), Mary Shelley (1797–1851; British), Elizabeth Barrett Browning (1806–1861; British), Emily Dickinson (1830–1886; American), Elizabeth Taylor (1932–2011; American), and Anne Carson (b. 1950; Canadian).

The texts I have selected and the musical landscapes I have created are full of bitterness, desire, longing, ecstasy, irony, tenderness, despair, hope, sadness and humor.

Labyrinth of Love (2012) for soprano and small chamber ensemble was commissioned by Present Music, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA and the Rambert Dance Company, London, United Kingdom. The world premiere performance was given by Present Music, conducted by Kevin Stalheim, with Jennifer Goltz, soprano, in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, on June 15, 2012. The first European performance was given by the Rambert Dance Company, Paul Hoskins, music director, with Marguerite Donlon, choreographer, in Manchester, United Kingdom, on October 10, 2012.

- Program Note by composer

Labyrinth of Love (2013) for soprano and chamber winds was commissioned by the University of Miami Frost School of Music. The world premiere performance was given by the University of Miami Frost Wind Ensemble, conducted by Gary D. Green, with Hila Plitmann, soprano, in Coral Gables, Florida, on October 6,2013.

- Program Note from Foot in the Door Ensemble concert program, 22 February 2019


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Daugherty, M. [2015]. Labyrinth of Love : For Soprano and Large Chamber Ensemble (2012) [score]. Michael Daugherty Music: [s.l.]
  • Michael Daugherty website Accessed 28 March 2016