La Vita

From Wind Repertory Project
Yasuhide Ito

Yasuhide Ito

Subtitle: Symphony in 3 Scenes

General Info

Year: 1998
Duration: c. 19:15
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Bravo Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $260.00   |   Score Only (print) - $32.00


1. La Sinfonia - 4:55
2. Una Poeta - 8:15
3. La Vita - 6:50

The three movements may be purchased separately.


Full Score
Piccolo (Ryuteki)
Flute I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Chanchiki
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Mark Tree
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbals (2)
  • Tam-tam
  • Tambourine
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tom-toms (3)
  • Triangles (2)
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In the past few years, Ito has been writing vocal music, becoming aware of the beauty of the Japanese language. He thought of applying this to band music, and this piece was born. What is a symphony? What is contemporary music? What is the difference between popular music and serious music? This work is his answer to all these questions.

La Sinfonia means The Symphony. Una Poeta, quoted from his own vocal music, is "A Poet". La Vita has a different nuance from the English word "the Life". What the music expresses is, as Arthur Rimbaud says, "Ma vie etait le festin" (My life was a feast).

La Vita is a serious three-movement work that features every member of the ensemble. The first movement features a traditional symphonic development of two themes. The second movement opens and closes with tasteful percussion section writing, and features warm brass and lyrical woodwind lines. The third movement features a Japanese folk-inspired theme that builds to a dramatic climax.

This work was commissioned by the National Cultural Festival in Oita.

- Program Note from publisher

Commercial Discography


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Brigham Young University (Provo, Utah) Symphonic Band (Kirk Saville, conductor) – 12 December 2019
  • Knightwind Ensemble (Milwaukee, Wisc.) (Erik N. Janners, conductor) – 10 February 2019
  • Feroci Philharmonic Winds (Bangkok, Thailand) (Yasuhide Ito, conductor) – 31 October 2017
  • Lynn Conservatory of Music (Boca Raton, Fla.) Wind Ensemble (Kenneth Amis, conductor) – 15 September 2013
  • Yuetao Symphonic Wind Ensemble (Taipei, Taiwan) (Gary Brattin, conductor) - 30 March 2010

Works for Winds by This Composer