La Quintessenza

From Wind Repertory Project
Johan de Meij

Johan de Meij

General Info

Year: 1990 / 1998
Duration: c. 12:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Origiral Medium: Fanfare Orchestra
Publisher: Amstel Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $178.00

Movements (played without pause)

1. Introduzione – 2:16
2. Capriccio – 3:09
3. Arioso – 3:27
4. Alla Marcia – 2:16
5. Finale – 0:54


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Clarinet
B-flat Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxohone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Castanets
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Temple Block
  • Tom-tom
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

La Quintessenza is a musical approach of the quintessence, the heart of the matter. By focusing a five-note motif in a number of variants, De Meij tries to get through to the essence of the musical matter. The core of the composition is a lyrical middle part (Arioso), preceded by an opening fanfare for brass (Introduzione) and a burlesque variant on the same motif (Capriccio). In the fourth part (Alla Marcia) this main motif is only used as an ambient signal, and in the Finale the opening theme is repeated so the musical walk-round is complete.

"La Quintessenza" was commissioned by the Carroll County Public Schools, Maryland, and was premiered by the Carroll County All State Band, conducted by Harlan Parker, in Westminster on 28 February 1998. The first European performance was given by the Royal Dutch Military Band (Koninklijke Militaire Kapel), conducted by Pieter Jansen, at the annual Red Cross Concert in the Amsterdam Concertgebouw on 15 May 1998.

"La Quintessenza" is a revised version of the composition "Pentagram" (for fanfare band) dating from 1990. This work was re-orchestrated for symphonic band at the commissioners' request.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

  • Arkansas: V


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer