Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

La Danse du Phénix

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Toshio Mashima

Toshio Mashima

Subtitle: Impression de Kyoto

General Info

Year: 2007
Duration: c. 9:50
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Bravo Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $175.00   |   Score Only (print) - $25.00


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute II
Flute I
Oboe (optional)
Bassoon (optional)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone (optional)
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
String Bass (optional)
Percussion, including:

  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangle (high)
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The inspiration of La Danse du Phénix is Kyoto, one of the most beautiful cities in Japan. Kyoto was the capital city for 1,000 of its 1200-year history, and is still the cultural center of the country.

You will find the stone garden of Ryoan-ji Temple in the middle of the work, with the sound of the wind that makes a bamboo grove tremble. The grand climax expresses the brilliance of the Kinkaku-ji Temple (Golden Pavilion) and the phoenix flapping its gilded wings into the heavens.

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer