La Cathedrale Engloutie

From Wind Repertory Project
Claude Debussy

Claude Debussy (arr. John Glenesk Mortimer)

Subtitle: The Sunken Cathedral / Die versunkene Kathedrale

The full title in French is Préludes, Book 1: X. La cathédrale engloutie.

General Info

Year: 1910 / 2016
Duration: c. 6:50
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Editions Marc Reift
Cost: Score and Parts - $125.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe (optional)
Bassoon (optional)
E-flat Soprano Clarinet (optional)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone (optional)
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone I-II
E-flat Baritone Saxophone (optional)
E-flat Trumpet/Cornet (optional)
B-flat Trumpet/Cornet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass (optional)
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Glockenspiel
  • Tam-Tam
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Engulfed Cathedral is the tenth prelude in the first volume of Debussy's Preludes. It depicts an old legend from Brittany that states, “To punish the people for their sins, the cathedral in the mighty city of Ys is engulfed by the sea. Each sunrise, the townspeople watch as the sunken cathedral rises from the water, and then sinks slowly into the ocean."

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Minnesota State University (Mankato) Wind Ensemble (Amy K Roisum Foley, conductor) - 1 March 2022

Works for Winds by This Composer

This composer primarily wrote orchestral music. Transcriptions of his works include:

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works