L’isle joyeuse

From Wind Repertory Project
Claude Debussy

Claude Debussy (arr. Toshio Mashima)

General Info

Year: 1904 / 2005
Duration: c. 7:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Piano
Publisher: Bravo Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $100.00   |   Score Only (print) - $22.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Castanets
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Considering the piano music of Debussy (1862-1918), L'isle joyeuse (The Isle of Joy) is in the larger scale, needing virtuosity to perform. It was composed in 1904, between Estampes (1903) and Images (1905-07). While Debussy's style is often more subdued, this piece is joyous and colorful with a grandiose climax.

Debussy was inspired by The Embarkation for Cythera of Watteau, French Rococo painter of the 18th century, and so titled the piece. The island of Cythera had a shrine of Aphrodite (Venus) that lovers eagerly visited in ancient days. In fact, Watteau's picture is considered to depict the debarkation from Cythera, because the lovers are on the island, ready to leave.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

  • Louisiana: V
  • Tennessee: VI
  • Texas: V. Complete


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works