Korean Dances

From Wind Repertory Project
Chang-Su Koh

Chang Su Koh

General Info

Year: 2004
Duration: c. 16:25
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Bravo Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $145.00   |   Score Only (print) - $25.00


1. Preludio – 2:10
2. Passacaglia – 4:30
3. Rondo – 9:55


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute III
Flute I-II
Oboe (doubling English Horn)
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III (I-II div.)
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The composer utilized several traditional Korean rhythms called Chirche Chandan. The first movement, Preludio, is a type of marching overture. The second movement, Passacaglia, a fantasy and variation, passes the traditional tune Birds and Moon from one section/instrument to the other 14 times. The third movement, Rondo-Finale, uses the form of Chirche Chandan freely and restructures the style of the music. Chirche Chandan is one of the most unique and complex rhythm styles in the Korean Peninsula as it is very appealing and attractive to the natives. I hope this literature opens a door for many and presents a chance to get to know Chirche Chandane.

Korean Dances was commissioned by Osaka College of Music.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer