Konzertmusik für Klavier, Blechbläser und Harfen, Opus 49

From Wind Repertory Project
Paul Hindemith

Paul Hindemith

General Info

Year: 1930
Duration: c. 21:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Schott Music
Cost: Score and Parts - Rental   |   Study Score Only: $27.95


1. Ruhig gehende Viertel - 5:33
2. Lebhaft - 5:45
3. Sehr ruhig, Variationen - 7:31
4. Massig schnell, kraftvoll - 7:23


Full Score
C Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Harp I-II
Solo Piano


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This work was premiered by the Chicago Symphony on October 12, 1930, with Hugo Kortschak, conductor, and Emma Lübbecke-Job, pianist. It is dedicated to the commissioner of the work, Mrs. Elizabeth Sprague Coolidge. She was an American patron of chamber music who commissioned composers such as Béla Bartók, Benjamin Britten, Aaron Copland, Darius Milhaud, Sergei Prokofiev, Maurice Ravel, Arnold Schoenberg, Igor Stravinsky, and Anton Webern.


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music Wind Orchestra (Terence Milligan, conductor) – 11 October 2016
  • Orchestre National de Lyon (David Robertson, conductor) 1 & 3 April 2004
  • Aspen Music Festival (Scott Terrell, conductor) 26 July 2004
  • Royal College of Music Brass Ensemble (Paul Archibald, conductor) 3 March 2005
  • Chautauqua Symphony Orchestra (Thompson Hanks, conductor) 23 July 2007
  • DePaul University Wind Ensemble (Donald DeRoche, conductor) 24 April 2008
  • New England Philharmonic (Richard Pittman, conductor) 1 November 2008
  • Norfolk Chamber Consort (David Zeisler, conductor) 30 March 2009
  • University of Southern California Wind Ensemble (H. Robert Reynolds, conductor) 1 November 2009
  • Orange County Youth Symphony Orchestra - 11 January 2010
  • Wayne State University Wind Symphony (Douglas Bianchi, conductor) 20 April 2010

Works for Winds by This Composer