Kinizsi (arr. Borodach)

From Wind Repertory Project
Julius Fučik

Julius Fučík (ed. Jon Borodach)

Subtitle: Hungarian Concert March
This work bears the designation Opus 80.

General Info

Year: ca. 1910 / 2021
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Brass band
Publisher: Jon Borodach
Cost: Score and Parts - Contact Jon Borodach


Full Score
C Piccolo
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Solo Trumpet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV-V
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Kinizsi, Op. 80 by Julius Fučik, is a concert march celebrating Hungary’s most popular and successful military general, Pál Kinizsi (1432-1492). Although this march is popular throughout Hungary and Eastern European, it is not often performed outside of the continent and is certainly not as well known as Fučik’s very popular Florentiner March, which is a staple for bands and orchestras throughout the world.

Kinizsi displays the compositional craft for which Fučik (a student of Antonín Dvořák) is known, with clear phrase structure, memorable melodies and evocative orchestration. Here the original version for European brass band, which included variously pitched tubas and trumpets as well as a consort of flugelhorns, has been re-scored for the instruments of our modern wind band.

- Program Note from University of Northern Colorado Symphonic Band concert program, 30 November 2021

The Kinizsi March is dedicated to the memory of the Hungarian national hero, Pál Kiniszi, a commoner who led Hungary to victory over the Ottoman Turks in 1479.

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Northern Colorado (Greeley) Symphonic Band (Jon Borodach, conductor) – 30 November 2021 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer