Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Juraj Filas

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Juraj Filas


Juraj Filas (b. 5 March 1955, Kosice, Slovak Republic) is a Czech composer.

Filas had intended to become an opera singer. He graduated from the Prague Conservatory in 1976 in voice and composition, and received a diploma in composition in 1981 from professors Jan Zdeněk Bartoš and Jiří Pauer.

Filas is author of more than 90 opuses including symphonic works, cantatas, concertos, Te Deum, Requiem, a TV-Opera, compositions for big brass-band and vast number of chamber music. Filas uses a distinctly lyrical and emotional musical language with which he strives to maintain the distinct European musical traditions of some of the masters such as Verdi, Beethoven and Mahler.

Filas composes mainly on specific commissions of world-class players and ensembles, e.g., Joseph Alessi, solo trombonist of New York Philharmonic (two sonatas and a concerto); Otto Sautera, one of the best contemporary piccolo trumpet players (concerto, sonata and some other compositions); James Gourlay , a leading tuba-player (Concerto).

Filas has also been asked to write music for ensembles as "Spanish brass-Luur Metal" (brass quintet), Swiss "Slokar Quartett" (trombones) or "Zürcher -Oboenquartett". His TV-opera "Memento Mori" (written for Czechslovak TV) won "Jacobs-Suchard Prize" at International Music Competition Salzburg in 1989. His compositions took part in several music contests in Prague (Prague Spring), Riva dell'Garda, Narbon, Helsinki, Guebwiller, Bremen, Geneva etc.

In 2008 Filas was awarded the prestigious Gustav Mahler’s prize of European union of Arts for his compositions up to now.

Juraj Filas lives in Prague. In addition to composing he also lectures Composition in Music Faculty of the Academy of Performing Arts.

Works for Winds