Joyous Trilogy, A

From Wind Repertory Project
Quinn Mason

Quinn Mason (transcribed by composer)

General Info

Year: 2019 / 2022
Duration: c. 15:55
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Masonian Music, through NYC Music Services
Cost: Score and Parts – Rental   |   Score Only (print or digital) - $91.99

Movements (played without pause)

1. Running - c. 7:10
2. Reflection - c. 4:00
3. Renewal - c. 4:15


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

For A Joyous Trilogy, the composer writes that he “wanted to create a composition that was the very embodiment of happiness and cheerfulness, an accessible work that would put any listener in a good mood. The first movement, Running, is so called because of its always-moving and seemingly never-waning energy that keeps going and going. The second, Reflection, is a gentle and introspective meditation featuring a solo trombone. The third, Renewal, picks the energy back up, but a little more spirited and zestful this time, and keeps it going to the very end, complete with dynamic and vibrant interplay between all the orchestral sections.

Quinn Mason has dedicated this work to “Will White, a friend and mentor for many years now, and one of the most joyous people I know!”

- Program Note by Jeff Eldridge (principal bassoon, Harmonia Orchestra)

This transcription was created especially for and dedicated to Prof. Jerry Junkin and the University of Texas Wind Ensemble.

- Program Note from score


None discovered thus far.

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Texas (Austin) Wind Ensemble (Jerry Junkin, conductor) – 9 October 2022 *Premiere Wind Ensemble Performance*

Works for Winds by this Composer