Joyeuse Symphonie

From Wind Repertory Project
Ida Gotkovsky

Ida Gotkovsky

General Info

Year: 2000
Duration: c. 17:50
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Molenaar Edition
Cost: Score and Parts - €254.00   |   Score Only - €37.00

Movements (played without pause)

1. Lento
2. Dolce
3. Giocoso
4. Majestuoso


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone I-II
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III-IV
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbals
  • Tam-tam
  • Xylophone


In Parts

  • Percussion, m.350–351: Missing suspended cymbal roll entrance and dynamic pp
  • Percussion, m.359–361: Missing snare drum roll entrance on beat 2

Program Notes

Joyeuse Symphonie was commissioned by the Strasbourg Symphonic Band for the cultural events in 2000 and to mark the passage into the third millennium. The piece is written in four movements played without break.

  • The Lento with a dreaming mood, introduces the main theme
  • Dolce is the main theme that is developed throughout the work. Its poetic construction leads to completion, the Joy and Strength of Life.
  • Joy, movement, and rhythm are in the Giocoso. This third movement, with a strong rhythmic rigor, is synonymous with vitality.
  • Majestuoso takes up the main theme again but in a monumental, glorious way and in all its expressive strength. We get a flourish of all band sounds and tone colors.

Joyeuse Symphonie ends with the Glory of Life that goes on into eternity.

- Program Note from score


None discovered thus far.

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Gotkovsky, I. (2000). Joyeuse Symphonie [score]. Molenaar: Wormerveer, Neth.