Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Joy and Euphoria

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Joseph Foster Harkins

Joseph Foster Harkins

Subtitle: For Woodwind Octet

General Info

Year: 2018
Duration: c. 7:20
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Joseph Foster Harkins Music Publications
Cost: Score and Parts - Contact composer


Full Score
Oboe I-II
English Horn
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Joy and Euphoria is part two of the four-part composition Axis Mundi.

"Every Microcosm, every inhabited region, has a Centre; that is to say, a place that is sacred above all.” (Mircea Eliade)

The Axis Mundi is a symbol of this Centre, a place where information, ideas, even people can cross between dimensions for growth and knowledge. As humans, we too have a Centre, commonly referred to as a grounding “morality” or “soul” that may or may not be influenced and supported by religion. This sense of the moral self adjusts and moves over time, adapting to our experiences, actions, and thoughts, and I have been contemplating this motion, this ever-changing identity and sense of self ,whilst completing this three-year long project.

Axis Mundi, music for three octets is in four parts, with the first three parts each highlighting an instrumental family before combining all the elements in the final part. Passion and Remembrance introduces us to the powerful, colorful, and flexible brass with a spotlight on the tenor trombone. Joy and Euphoria features the woodwinds in their element through a provocative narrative structure. Thought and Introspection is a somber, supple hymn for the strings with a central melody in the viola. The whole work concludes with a dramatic, powerful epilogue The Three in One, scored for all three octets that combines elements from the previous pieces. The four parts span three years of compositional development and various stages of personal development, and offer a glimpse into what a changing identity can look and sound like.

- Program Note by composer

For Brian Norcross and the Franklin & Marshall College Philharmonia.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • West Chester University (Penn.) Chamber Wind Ensemble (Andrew Yozviak, conductor) – 27 February 2020
  • Franklin & Marshall College (Lancaster, Penn.) Philharmonia (Brian Norcross, conductor) – 29 September 2018 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer