Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Jolly Robbers Overture (arr Laurendeau)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Franz von Suppé

Franz von Suppé (arr. Louis-Philippe Laurendeau)

This work is often identified by its German title, " Banditenstreiche."

General Info

Year: 1867 / 1897
Duration: c. 7:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: BOVACO Music Publications
Cost: Score and Parts - $65.00   |   Score Only - $15.00

For further availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Full Score
D-flat Piccolo
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
E-flat Soprano Cornet
B-flat Cornet Solo-I-II
E-flat Horn or Alto I-II-III
B-flat Tenor Horn
Trombone I-II-III
Drums, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This work begins with a fanfare, then some very soft, almost funereal music, with a repeat of the fanfare, in a higher register. This is followed by a march, with bugle-like sounds. Soon, the music becomes dramatic, only to be followed by a lyrical midsection. There then appears a "trotting" rhythm, turning sprightly, and reminding us of a horse parade. The work ends with the usual rousing finale characteristic of Suppé.

- Program Note from Manchester Symphony concert program, 11 May 2003


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Suppé, F.; Laurendeau, L. (1897). Jolly Robbers [score]. Carl Fischer: [s.l.]