Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Javier Pérez Garrido

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Javier Pérez Garrido


Javier Pérez Garrido (b. 20 July 1985, Madrid, Spain) is a Spanish composer and clarinetist.

Mr. Pérez Garrido holds an advanced degree in clarinet performance (2008) and in composition (2010) from the Conservatory of Murcia, Spain. He has studied compositions with M. D. Aguilar, J. Artaza, R. Baños, S. Herrero, A. García Abril, P. Illescas, D. Mora, J. Martínez Oña, F. J. Sánchez, J. M. Sánchez-Verdú, J. M. Solare and A. Valero Castells.

As a composer, Pérez Garrido is the composer of nearly a hundred of works for chamber ensembles, vocal and choral ensembles, opera, and symphonic works for band and orchestra. In 2006, his symphonic poem Fantasía, Op. 14 was a finalist at the International Symphonic Wind Band Composition Competition, “Adolf Ventas”, in Spain. In 2008, he won a First Award and a Special Mention by the XVI National Concert Band Composition Competition Villa de Pozo Estrecho, Spain, for his work Asociación Musical el Castillo, Op. 24.

His composition for wind orchestra Rex Regum, Op. 23 received the First Prize by the National Wind Band Composition Competition of Toledo (Spain, 2012). Another awarded composition by Pérez Garrido is Soledad, Op. 56 (3rd Prize by IV National Wind Band Composition Competition of San Pedro del Pinatar (Spain, 2013). Pérez Garrido has been selected by Fifteen Minutes of Fame to premiere his Op. 51 in New York City, USA.

In recent years, Pérez Garrido has been commissioned to premiere works for the 38th International Trumpet Guild, Michigan, USA (Concertino de los Filabres, Op. 54), the First Centennial of Alicante Symphonic Concert Band, Alicante, Spain (Fanfarria, Op. 50), Fifteen minutes of Fame, New York City, USA, and the XX National Concert Band Competition “Ciudad de Murcia”, Spain, among others.

In 2013, the European Union Youth Wind Orchestra under the direction of Jan Cober premiered his composition European Overture, Op. 42 in Luxembourg and performed it again in all of their tour´s concerts including their participation at the World Music Championship (Kerkrade, The Netherlands) with Simón Bolivar Orchestra, among others. The composition of Pérez Garrido became a success and was very well received by important musicians, critics and audience.

Recently, Pérez Garrido has won the Gold and Bronze Medals at Global Music Awards from California with his compositions Fantasía, Op. 14 and Fanfarria, Op. 50. Furthermore, he has been nominee to the prestigious Hollywood Music in Media Awards (Los Ángeles) for his composition Fanfarria, Op. 50, and won the First Honorable Mention by the National Wind Band Composition Competition of Toledo for composing the march Pater Dimitte Illis.

His compositions have been premiered in Argentina, Austria (Vienna), Canada (Quebec), Colombia, Costa Rica (San José), Germany, USA (New York, Iowa, Michigan, Minessota), Italia (Roma), Luxembourg, Mexico, Portugal, Spain, The Netherlands and South Korea (Seoul) by important soloist, chamber groups, choruses, wind bands and orchestras. Last year, people could hear almost thirty concerts including some of them.

In recognition to his musical career, Pérez Garrido has received the Silver Medal of Serón (Almería, Spain)

Works for Winds