Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Janice Macaulay

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Janice Macaulay


Janice Macaulay is an American composer and educator.

Dr. Macaulay received her doctor of musical arts degree in composition from Cornell University in 1986, where she studied composition with Karel Husa and Steven Stucky. She holds a bachelor of arts degree in English and master’s degrees in both English and music from Brown University.

With more than forty years’ experience teaching music history, theory, and keyboard performance as well as conducting chorus, orchestra, and chamber ensembles, Dr. Macaulay has served as vice president of the Maryland-area Council for Higher Education in Music. She was associate professor and music department coordinator at Anne Arundel Community College (Arnold, Md.), and coordinated the theory, keyboard, and chamber music programs at Wells College (Aurora, N.Y.). She has also taught music theory and appreciation at Brown University, Cornell University, and at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, where from 1995 to 2001 she taught Expanded Harmony, Writing Music, Twentieth-Century Techniques, Introduction to Music, Special Topics in Music, Art, and Society: Women in Music, and since 2008, Instrumentation and Expanded Harmony.

Her music has been performed at the Charles Ives Center for American Music, at colleges and universities across the country, and at numerous regional and national conferences of the Society of Composers, Inc. and of the International Alliance of Women in Music.

Awards have included two Best of Category Prizes for Chamber Music and Vocal Music in the International Delius Composition Competition, two Honorable Mentions from the International Alliance of Women in Music, three grants from Meet the Composer, as well as grants from the Cornell Council on the Creative Arts and from the National Women’s Music Resource Center for a special reading session of Orbits for orchestra by the Bay Area Women’s Philharmonic.

Works for Winds