Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Italian Polka (arr Lucas)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Sergei Rachmaninoff

Sergei Rachmaninoff (arr. Lucas)

General Info

Year: 1938 / 2007
Duration: c. 2:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Piano
Publisher: Alfred Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $70.00; (digital) - $70.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This engaging little work was originally written for two pianos. While in Italy, Rachmaninoff heard the tune played on an old-fashioned street organ, drawn through the streets by a donkey. Liking the tune, he immediately wrote it down. Later in Russia, it was arranged for the Imperial Marine Guard Band, and was performed with great success.

- Program Note from Program Notes for Band


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Perusal score
  • Rachmaninoff, S.; Lucas, E. (2007). Italian Polka [score]. Alfred Publishing: [s.l.].
  • Smith, Norman E. (2002). Program Notes for Band. Chicago: GIA Publications, pp. 490.