Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

It Is as Simple as Breathing

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Philip Orem

Philip Orem

General Info

Year: 2016
Duration: c. 11:50
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Philip Orem
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $100.00


Full Score
Solo Flute
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-VII, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Bongos
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Maracas, high pitched
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam, large
  • Tom-Tom (3)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Block, piccolo
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

It Is as Simple as Breathing was composed in memory of Ed Senechal, a dear friend of the composer. The work is based on a poem written in memory of Ed that states, in part:

I want to tell you how hard it is to watch someone you love die. But that is a lie. It is as simple as breathing.

- Program Note from Iowa State University Wind Ensemble concert program, 2 March 2018


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer