Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Jan Van der Roost

Jan Van der Roost

This work is the third movement of Sinfonia Hungarica. The title is correctly written "István."

General Info

Year: 2000
Duration: c. 14:33
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: De Haske
Cost: Score and Parts - €261.67 | Score - €51.39


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoons I-II
Contrabassoon (optional)
E-flat Clarinet
B-flat Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
Tuba (div.)
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Anvils (as many as possible)
  • Bass Drum
  • Beatring
  • Chinese Cymbal
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Crotales
  • Field Drum
  • Finger Cymbal
  • Flaxatone
  • Floor Tom
  • Glockenspiel
  • Low Tom
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal (2)
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam (2)
  • Tom-toms (4)
  • Triangle (2)
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip
  • Wind Chime
  • Wind Machine
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Sinfonia Hungarica is a three-movement symphony that depicts the history of Hungary. All three movements were inspired by historical key figures, wars, and other important events from this country. This symphony is a celebration of Hungary’s millennium in 2001.

The final movement is named after Istvan, the king who introduced Christianity into Hungary and who was crowned by Pope Silvestro II on January 1, 1001. A rather solemn start leads to another war-like passage, ending with some loud crashes. This symbolizes the fact that the body of the pagan Koppany was cut into four pieces, and sent to the four castles of the country as an example. After a quiet, almost religious intermezzo, the national hymn of Hungary is introduced. This broad “grandioso” ending also has a symbolic meaning: after ten centuries, Hungary has many reasons to look back on the past with pride, and to look forward to the future with optimism and confidence.

-Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer