Invictus (Barfield)

From Wind Repertory Project
Anthony Barfield

Anthony Barfield

General Info

Year: 2020
Duration: c. 4:25
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Anthony Barfield
Cost: Score and Parts (digital) - $60.00


Full Score
B-flat Trumpet I-VI
Horn in F I-II-III
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone I-II


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Invictus, meaning “unconquered”, is a short work about New York City in its current circumstances. It’s about dealing with the heightened sense of uncertainty surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic and the Black Lives Matter protests. In conversations with New Yorkers about their personal feelings about these issues, I’ve learned that people feel a sense of anxiety and yet a sense of community and hopefulness that change for the better is on the horizon. New York is resilient, courageous and adaptable. Invictus is meant to show that, despite these troublesome times, we are in fact unconquerable. Commissioned by Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Indiana University of Pennsylvania (Indiana, Penn.) Wind Ensemble (Benjamin Wilcox, conductor) - 1 May 2022
  • Illinois State University (Normal) Wind Symphony (Anthony C. Marinello, conductor) – 8 April 2022 (CBDNA 2022 North Central Conference, Madison, Wisc.)
  • SUNY Potsdam Crane Wind Ensemble (Brian K. Doyle, conductor) - 22 October 2021
  • University of Michigan (Ann Arbor) Symphony Band Chamber Winds (Daniel Johnson, conductor) - 1 October 2021
  • Indiana University (Bloomington) Wind Ensemble (Rodney Dorsey, conductor) - 21 September 2021
  • University of Colorado Boulder Wind Symphony (Donald J. McKinney, conductor) - 15 April 2021

Works for Winds by This Composer