Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Philip Sparke

Philip Sparke

General Info

Year: 2001
Duration: c. 10:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Anglo Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $129.00   |   Score Only - $26.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
Bassoon I-II
Soprano Saxophone
Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Cymbals (crash and suspended)
  • Field Drum
  • Glockenspiel
  • Mark Chimes
  • Snare Drum
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Invictus (The Unconquered) was commissioned by and for the United States Army Ground Forces Band, Major Otis C. French, Commander and Conductor, and is dedicated to the Soldiers of the Army’s Forces Command, General John W. Hendrix, Commanding General. It was first performed on 13th June 2001 as part of the U.S. Army’s annual birthday celebrations. Specifically, the piece is dedicated to various units of Forces Command, including the Active Army, Army National Guard, Army Reserve, Combat Forces, Combat Support Forces, Combat Service Support Forces and the Civilian Forces.

Invictus opens with a robust theme from the brass against a strongly chordal accompaniment. The mood subsides with a gentle flute solo leading into the major part of the work, a sinister march in modal style. A bridge passage with bubbling 16th notes in the low clarinets leads to a second main subject, a passionate and turbulent theme over more continuous 16th notes. An attempt to re-introduce the march theme is brutally interrupted and a slow, central section is introduced. This opens with a reflective theme, which includes a clarinet solo and builds to an emotional climax for the whole band. This subsides and the original tempo reasserts itself with an exciting build to a reintroduction of the march theme, but this time the second subject returns triumphantly in the major key and leads to an emphatic and victorious close.

- Program Note by Philip Sparke


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Long Island University Post Wind Symphony (James McRoy, conductor) – 7 December 2017

Works for Winds by This Composer