Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Internet Symphony "Eroica"

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Tan Dun

Tan Dun (ed. Peter Martin)

General Info

Year: 2009 / 2015
Duration: c. 4:40
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: G. Schirmer, Inc.
Cost: Score and Parts - $115.00   |   Score Only - $15.00

Movements (played without pause)

1. Allegretto – 0:30
2. Dolce Molto – 0:55
3. Allegro – 1:25
4. Allegro Vivace – 1:15


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Harp (or Piano)
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Brake Drums (3)
  • "Brake Gongs" (Hubcaps) (4)
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Slapstick
  • Snare Drum
  • Tubular Bells (Chimes)
  • Vibraphone

Program Notes

In 2008, Google and YouTube commissioned Academy Award winner (Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon) and UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador Tan Dun to compose a new work -- Internet Symphony “Eroica” -- as part of the inaugural YouTube Symphony Orchestra project. Musicians from around the world were invited to audition by submitting videos of their interpretations of the Internet Symphony to be judged by members of leading international orchestras. There were more than 3,000 auditions from more than 70 countries. The project culminated in a performance at Carnegie Hall on April 15, 2009, that was webcast and is still available on YouTube. More than 22 million people from 200 countries on six continents have experienced Tan Dun's feeling of a global music community which is encapsulated in his Internet Symphony “Eroica”.

In the words of Tan Dun:

The Internet is an invisible Silk Road, joining different cultures from around the world. East or West, North or South, and this project has created a classical music phenomenon, bringing together musical heroes from all corners of the globe.

When I was conceiving this work, it was during the China Olympics. On the streets of New York, London, Beijing, Shanghai, I heard the noise of people cheering and moving around beautifully. I was passing by an automotive garage and I found three brake drums from different automobiles -- these car parts -- and it was a beautiful sound ... and I realized this is the spirit of the young. This is the spirit of today.

- Program Note by Peter Stanley Martin, Autograph Editions, Series Editor


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)


State Ratings

  • Alabama: Class A
  • Kentucky: V
  • Pennsylvania: IV
  • Tennessee: V


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Texas State University (San Marcos) Symphonic Winds (Kyle R. Glaser, conductor) - 28 April 2023
  • University of Kansas (Lawrence) Wind Ensemble (Paul W. Popiel, conductor) - 6 February 2021
  • University of Minnesota (Minneapolis) University Band (JoAnn Wieszczyk, conductor) - 3 May 2018
  • Atholton High School Wind Ensemble (Eric Posner, conductor) - Maryland Music Educators Association Conference (Baltimore, Md.) – 9 March 2018
  • Texas State Symphonic Winds (Kyle Glaser, conductor) – 1 March 2018
  • University of Kansas (Lawrence) Wind Ensemble (Nick Waldron, conductor) – 16 February 2018
  • AudioImage Wind Ensemble (Singapore) (Clarence Tan, conductor) – 14 January 2018
  • The Ridgewood Concert Band (Christian Wilhjelm, conductor) – 10 February 2017
  • Rutgers Symphony Band (William L. Berz, conductor) – 10 March 2016
  • Plymouth State University Symphonic Band (Mark Stickney, conductor) – 9 March 2016
  • Indiana University (Bloomington) Wind Ensemble (Stephen W. Pratt, conductor) – 16 February 2016
  • VanderCook College of Music (Chicago, Ill.) Symphonic Band (Stacey Larson Dolan, conductor) – 18 December 2015 (2015 Midwest Clinic)
  • Triangle Wind Ensemble (Evan Feldman, conductor) – 11 April 2015
  • NJCU Symphony of Winds and Percussion (Patrick J. Burns, conductor) - 22 April 2014 – World Premiere

Works for Winds by This Composer