Inner Workings

From Wind Repertory Project
Robert Langenfeld

General Info

Year: 2023
Duration: c. 14:40
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: RLCompositions
Cost: Score and Parts - Available Spring 2024


1. Fanfare for the Mind
2. Soul's Solitude
3. Imagination Unbound


Full Score
Solo Trumpet

  • B-flat Piccolo Trumpet
  • Flugelhorn
  • B-flat Trumpet

C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • China Cymbals
  • Crash Cymbals (concert)
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Hi-Hat
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Inner Workings is my first concerto for trumpet, symphonic band, and electronics. Fittingly, the first brass instrument I learned to play was the trumpet in the fifth grade. I had grand dreams of becoming a professional trumpet player, performing in movie scores and major symphony orchestras. Although my trumpet playing ambitions never worked out, and I ended up switching to euphonium, I have always held a special place in my heart for the trumpet. Thus, the title "Inner Workings," a play on both the mechanical nature of the physical instrument and the persona of the musician, was chosen.

In Inner Workings, I chose to explore the various aspects of a trumpet player through three distinct movements using three different trumpets and additional electronic voices. Each movement represents various aspects and qualities of the emerging trumpet soloist. In the first movement, Fanfare for the Mind, we hear the piccolo trumpet in a triumphant fanfare and contrasting lyrical passages. The second movement, Soul’s Solitude, explores the depths and beauty of the instrument through the use of a flugelhorn and improvisation. The concluding movement, Imagination Unbound, demonstrates to the listener the acrobatic and whimsical nature of the traditional B-flat trumpet through technical passages and an imaginative cadenza, culminating with a grand flourish that brings it all together, revealing the trumpet’s most powerful Inner Workings.

- Program Note by composer

Commissioned by a consortium lead by Purdue University Concert Band, Dr. Jon Sweet Conductor. Dedicated to Dr. Steve Siegel.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works