Indoor Overture, An

From Wind Repertory Project
Willem Strietman

Willem Strietman

General Info

Year: 1969 / 1998
Duration: c. 5:30
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Molenaar Edition
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €162.21   |   Score Only (print) - €24.85


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
E-flat Horn I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Bongos (3)
  • Castanets
  • Chimes
  • Claves
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Jingle Bells
  • Maracas
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Tambourine
  • Temple Block
  • Tenor Drum
  • Tom-toms (4)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This overture was originally composed for symphony orchestra in 1969. The themes Strietman used were taken from an earlier work, The Marionetten Ouverture (Introduction to the Puppet Show), which was premiered in 1957 on the Dutch NCRV-radio network. Twelve years later, the then Radio Unie commissioned him to write An Indoor Overture, which was performed many times by various radio orchestras.

In 1998, this work appeared in a version scored especially for wind band by the composer himself. Of this version, Strietman said, "In 1964, I met the American composer-conductor-pianist-teacher Aaron Copland (1900-1990), who had come to The Netherlands while on a European tour. I have many fond memories of the discussions I had with him and of his performances here. In his memory, I wrote a new version in 1995 of piece I had originally written in 1970 on the occasion of the 25th anniversary of the Metropole Orchestra, An Indoor Overture. This short work echoes Copland's An Outdoor Overture from 1938, in which light and serious art harmoniously converge.

- Program Note by World Association of Symphonic Bands and Ensembles (WASBE)



State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Cleveland (Ohio) Winds (Birch Browning, conductor) – 6 March 2022

Works for Winds by This Composer