Ice 9

From Wind Repertory Project
Von Hansen

Von Hansen

General Info

Year: 2010
Duration: c. 5:50
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Von Hansen
Cost: Score and Parts - Contact composer


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Drumset
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Tam-tam
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Ice 9 is a moto perpetuo piece with a relentless driving energy and angular melodic movement. The piece obtains a great deal of its interest through manipulation of rhythm, rapid changes in meter, and exploration of minimalism.

The title of this piece comes from the Kurt Vonnegut book Cat’s Cradle in which a scientist creates a molecule of water which freezes at 130 degrees (ice 9). The molecule is eventually dropped into the ocean freezing all water on earth.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer