From Wind Repertory Project
Hubert Hoche

Hubert Hoche

General Info

Year: 2019
Duration: c. 14:00
Difficulty: V+ (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: HH Musikverlag
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €149.90; (digital) - €149.90   |   Score Only (print) - €89.90


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
String Bass
Percussion (probably incomplete), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Hope is conceived as a set of variations running backwards. The main subject is constructed with a given interval structure whose leading tones will appear throughout the work. A complete rhythm structure will occur at about 2/3 of the composition, and at this moment it is possible to distinguish scraps of a melody. Only at the very end can the whole theme be heard but retrograded.

- Program Note by composer

Commissioned by Bundesvereinigung Deutscher Musikverbände e.V. (German National Association of Music Federations) with support of the GEMA-Stiftung. This first performance took place during the final round of an International Conductor’s Competition for which Hope was the compulsory piece for the conducting candidates.

- Program Note from WASBE


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Bayern Police Orchestra (Osnabrück) (Johann Mösenbichler, conductor) – 1 June 2019 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer