Michigan Morn

From Wind Repertory Project
(Redirected from Heart of the Morn, The)
H. Owen Reed

H Owen Reed

Subtitle: From the suite The Touch of the Earth.

General Info

Year: 1955 / 1987 / 2005
Duration: c. 6:50
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Ballerbach Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $80.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Ratchet
  • Sizzle Cymbal, large
  • Suspended Cymbal, large
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Vibra-slap
  • Xylophone

Players vocalizing


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Taken from Reed’s suite The Touch of the Earth, which is an arrangement of seven melodies from his folk-opera Peter Homan 's Dream, this work was originally published in 1987 as The Heart of the Morn. It is warm, rich, lyrical music with moving lines and a legato style. It also includes an optional mezzo soprano solo and optional SATB choral parts.

The music is inspired by a poem of the same name written by the composer. The first stanza sets the tone for the work:

There is gold in the eye of the morning, in Michigan where I was born;
There is gold in the sky and the lakes and the trees;
For a man with a will to believe what he sees;
There is gold in the eye of the morn.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

  • Michigan: Senior High B


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • H. Owen Reed website Accessed 10 February 2022
  • Miles, Richard B., and Larry Blocher. 2007. Teaching Music through Performance in Band. Volume 6 Volume 6. Chicago: GIA, pp.
  • Perusal score