Hawkeye Overture

From Wind Repertory Project
Robert Sheldon

Robert Sheldon

This work bears the designation Opus 206.

General Info

Year: 2017 / 2019
Duration: c. 3:20
Difficulty: II (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $58.00; (digital) - $58.00   |   Score Only (print) - $8.00


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Trombone I-II
Percussion (5 players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Mark Tree
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This proud and energetic overture is brimming with catchy melodies shared by nearly every section of the band. The bold opening fanfare leads to the brisk lively allegro section highlighted with a variety of contrasting textures and vivid harmonic colors. A contrasting lyrical section provides an opportunity to exhibit expressive musical playing skills before the main theme returns for an exuberant finale.

- Program Note from publisher

Commissioned by the South East Iowa Bandmasters Association for the Junior High Honor Band 2017

- Program Note from score

This commissioned work includes engaging melodic material for nearly every section of the ensemble. Rhythmic accuracy when playing syncopated rhythms, consistent styles of articulation throughout the ensemble, close observance of dynamic indications, and attention to tone production when playing short eighth-notes are necessary considerations in achieving an outstanding performance.

- Program Note from The Instrumentalist


State Ratings

  • Alabama: 2019-20 Additions D
  • Florida: 19-20 Adds Grade 2
  • Texas: II. Complete


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Sturgis (Mich.) Wind Symphony (Scott Davidson, conductor) - 6 March 2023

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works