Happy Go Lucky

From Wind Repertory Project
Josef Strauss

Josef Strauss (arr. Andrew Glover)

Subtitle: Ohne Sorgen! – Polka Schnell

The original work bears the designation Opus 271.

General Info

Year: 1869 / 2023
Duration: c. 1:55
Difficulty: III-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: C.L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown


Full Score
C Piccolo
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This delightful “polka schnell” from Josef Strauss puts smiles on the faces of audiences and performers. Lighthearted and full of humor, this sparkling piece will get toes tapping throughout the audience.

- Program Note from publisher

In 1869, Josef Strauss spent the summer together with his brother Johann in Pavlovsk near St. Petersburg. When he recovered from an illness he wrote a particularly fast-paced fast polka and gave the work the title: 'Ohne Sorgen!' (Without worries). It is not to be noted from the exuberantly cheerful composition, from which distress it originated. Josef Strauss wanted to be lively and intoxicatingly optimistic. It was premiered the 10th of September, 1869 in Pavlovsk and in this polka even the musicians had to laugh (ha, ha, ha), as if the whole world was actually 'Ohne Sorgen!'

- Program Note from Baton Music


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Karl L. King Municipal Band (Fort Dodge, Iowa) (Andrew Glover, conductor) - 25 June 2023 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer