Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

HRH Duke of Cambridge

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Malcolm Arnold

Malcolm Arnold

This work bears the designation Opus 60.

General Info

Year: 1957
Duration: c. 4:10
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Music Sales Corp.
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $95.00   |   Score Only (print) - $20.00

For additional availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Condensed Score
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Arnold wrote this march in 1957 for the centennial of the Royal Military Music School at Kneller Hall. The Duke of Cambridge was, at that time, Commander-in-Chief of the British Army. The dedication of the march reads, “To Lt. Col. David McBain,” who was bandmaster there.

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music

The cantabile melody of the middle section provides contrast to the richly scored opening and grand finale: a contrast between the band sounds of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

- Program Note from March Music Notes


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer