Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Groundhog's Lament, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Daniel Kallman

Daniel Kallman

General Info

Year: 2004
Duration: c. 3:05
Difficulty: II (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $55.00   |   Score Only (print) - $7.95


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F
Trombone I-II
Percussion I-II-III-IV. Including:

  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Wind Chimes
  • Woodblock


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Nestled down deep underground in its burrow, a groundhog slumbers on well into the third month of a long winter’s nap, dreaming cozy dreams about the coming of a warm spring. Suddenly it stirs, sensing a primal need to awaken. It yawns … stretches … then remembers why it has woken up. It is February 2, a day set aside specifically for the creature to perform an important task. Slowly, still half asleep, it begins to make its way up from the burrow. As it ascends, the anticipation of the coming moment gradually awakens and excites the groundhog. Faster and faster it ascends until, finally — ah, fresh air! After a couple of magnificent gulps, the animal remembers its purpose. It looks to the ground and sees, alas, its own shadow! Disappointed (as will be so many of the rest of us), the groundhog descends once again, finally settling back down in the corner of its dark, cool underground home. It resumes the long nap, hopeful that it still has a six-week supply of spring dreams to help it through the remainder of winter hibernation.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Tennessee: II


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer