Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Grand Serenade

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Ludwig van Beethoven

Ludwig van Beethoven (arr. Bernhard Henrik Crusell; ed. R. Mark Rogers)

Subtitle: After the Septet, Opus 20

General Info

Year: 1800 / 2004
Duration: c. 40:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Southern Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $150.00   |   Score Only (print) - $5.00


1. Adagio. Allegro con brio
2. Adagio cantabile
3. Tempo di minuetto
4. Thema con variazioni
5. Scherzo. Allegro molto
6. Andante con moto. Presto


Full Score
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
Serpent (or any of the following instruments: Double Bass, Contrabassoon, E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet or B-flat Contrabass Clarinet)
B-flat Trumpet
Horn in F I-II
Bass Trombone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The source of this piece is Beethoven’s Septet, Op. 20, a piece which is also present in an arrangement for wind octet. In this case, the arrangement for wind band is by Bernhard Crusell, who was a celebrated clarinet player and a contemporary of Beethoven.

- Program Note from publisher

One of Beethoven's first works to achieve wide popularity was his Septet in E-flat, Op. 20, for clarinet, horn, bassoon, violin, viola, violincello and double bass. The first sketches were made in 1799 and the whole work was completed in 1800. Combinations of wind and string instruments playing relatively lengthy suite-like composition were much in vogue at the time.

The Septet is a composite of several styles and embodies a number of musical forms. It is in six movements, suggesting the divertimenti which was so popular in Vienna from around 1760 onward.

[Further extensive notes may be found in the score. ed.]

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • R. Mark Rogers, personal correspondence, November 2020