Gran Duo

From Wind Repertory Project
Magnus Lindberg

Magnus Lindberg

Subtitle: For Woodwind and Brass

General Info

Year: 2000
Duration: c. 20:00
Difficulty: VII (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown   |   Score Only - $39.22


Full Score
Flute I-II-III (III doubling Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
C Trumpet I-II-III (III doubling D Trumpet)
Trombone I-II-III


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

"Lindberg, a master of orchestral sound, has chosen virtually the same forces as Stravinsky in his Symphonies of Wind Instruments, and with its five connected movements Gran Duo is a symphony in the modern sense ... a darkly brooding yet peaceful work that reflects something of a unique landscape."

- Program Note from The Times

Gran Duo was composed in 1999-2000 and is a dialogue between the two orchestral families of woodwind and brass, each with their respective material. Their initial characters, equating to the poetic stereotypes of 'masculine' and 'feminine', become progressively blurred and androgynised during the course of the work as larger sound masses give way to chamber music-style sub-groupings and individual instrumental solos.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Boston (Mass.) Conservatory Wind Ensemble (Matthew Marsit, conductor) - 21 April 2023
  • Maastricht (Netherlands) Academy of Music Wind Ensemble (Ivan Meylemans, conductor) - 14 October 2021
  • Sydney (Aus.) Conservatorium of Music Wind Symphony (John P. Lynch, conductor), 7 April 2016
  • Eastman Wind Ensemble (Cynthia Johnston Turner, guest conductor) - 16 October 2013
  • New England Conservatory Wind Ensemble (Charles Peltz, conductor) - 25 February 2005 | CBDNA 2005 National Conference
  • City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra (Simon Rattle, conductor) - 8 March 2000 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • "GRAN DUO for Woodwind and Brass by Magnus Lindberg (Finland)." WASBE. Web. (Featured as WASBE’s Composition of the Week, 20 July 2020). Accessed 15 January 2023
  • Lindberg, M. (2005). Gran Duo: For Woodwind and Brass [score]. Boosey & Hawkes: London.
  • Peltz, Charles. "Gran Duo." In Teaching Music through Performance in Band. Volume 6, edit. & comp. by Richard Miles, 830-835. Chicago: GIA Publications, 2007.