Gayaneh Dance Suite No. 1

From Wind Repertory Project
Aram Khachaturian

Aram Khachaturian (arr. Kenneth M Snoeck)

Subtitle: Excerpts

General Info

Year: 1939 / 2009
Duration: c. 7:45
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: G. Schirmer, through Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $95.00 | Score Only (print) - $15.00


1. Introduction
2. Gopak
3. Dance of the Maidens
4. Mountaineer's Dance


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Deep Field Drum
  • Doumbek (or "Deli")
  • Glockenspiel
  • Large Snare Drum
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Selected from the Gayaneh, these three colorful examples of Aram Khachaturian's writing for ballet are based on rhythms and melodic motives from different ethnic groups. They range from the very Slavic-Ukranian Gopak (Hopak) to the Armenian Dance of the Maidens and the Kurdish Mountaineers' Dance. There is much variance in instrumental color and tension from festive and party-like, through sultry and romantic, to tense and almost angry. These may be performed in any combination -- a single stand-alone dance movement, a contrasting pair, or all three in a complete set.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Khachaturian, A.; Snoeck, K. (2009). Gayaneh Dance Suite No. 1, Excerpts [score]. G. Schirmer; Milwaukee, WI; Distributed by Hal Leonard.
  • Perusal score