Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Anthony DiLorenzo

Anthony DiLorenzo

Subtitle: Concerto for Trumpet and Symphonic Band

General Info

Year: 2019
Duration: c. 14:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Trumpet and Orchestra
Publisher: Art of Sound Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $200.00   |   Score Only - $40.00


Full Score
Solo Trumpet
Flutes I-II
Oboes I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinets I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophones I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombones I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V

(percussion detail desired)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Fuji-san was originally commissioned in early 2019 for principal trumpeter Ryan Anthony and the Dallas Symphony Orchestra. Recently the concerto was commissioned by Southern Methodist University to be adapted for Symphonic Band.

When Ryan approached me in 2018, he had the idea that I write a work based on his epic climb of the iconic behemoth, Mount Fuji. Ryan, who is a survivor and currently battling multiple myeloma, is an inspiration and symbol of courage and strength. This work represents his personal battle with cancer and his continued fight and positive outlook on life. [Mr. Ryan died June 23, 2020.]

Having first-hand experience working with Ryan, I knew the concerto needed to be bold and dramatic. The music will take you to the historic breathtaking beauty of Japan and its multifaceted culture.

When the first movement starts, imagine yourself soaring over the Fuijigoko lakes towards the great mountain. The soloist enters after a brief and vibrant opening filled with fast flourishes and Taiko drums. I chose the piccolo trumpet since it sounds closest to the Japanese Shakuhachi flute and is an instrument that Ryan triumphs with ease. The music has a sense of beauty and security as both the soloist and accompaniment propel the listener closer to Mt. Fuji.

The second movement has a more ominous feel representing Ryan’s slow climb and what I would imagine to be his personal thoughts of mortality. Performed on a cornet, the contrasting warmth carries a dramatic and bewitching quality capturing the arduous ascension to the mountain’s apex.

The third movement has a playful and percussive feel of jubilation as the descent begins. I chose the traditional trumpet which has a brighter and more exuberant sound capturing the explosive feeling Ryan must have felt accomplishing this heroic climb.

Today, Ryan continues [sic] his fight with cancer and remains an inspiration to us all. We have known each other for years and I consider Ryan my brother. He was at my side through my own personal battle with cancer and I continue to be in awe of his talent and enduring drive.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer