From Ancient Times

From Wind Repertory Project
Jan Van der Roost

Jan Van der Roost

General Info

Year: 2009
Duration: c. 18:27
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Brass band
Publisher: De Haske
Cost: Score and Parts - €322.42   |   Score Only - $70.08


Full Score
Piccolo (doubling Flute III)
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Clarinet
B-flat Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Bass Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
B-flat Flugel Horn I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
Double Bass
Percussion including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Crotales
  • Marimba
  • Xylophone
  • Glockenspiel
  • Vibraphone
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal (3)
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam
  • Tom-tom
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Whip


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

From Ancient Times is a major work for brass band, inspired largely by the music of the Franco-Flemish School of the Renaissance. Hints of Gregorian chant and middle age dances pay tribute to music from even earlier times. The foundation of this spectacular work rests on truly ‘ancient times’ while the tonal language is of a much more modern nature.

- Program Note from publisher

From Ancient Times is a sizeable work, inspired largely by the music of the Renaissance Franco-Flemish School. No literal references are made, but some of the compositional principles and techniques of that style -- generally considered to be the origin of Western music -- are used here. This work is a tribute to a golden age in which composers from the Low Countries could be found practically all over Europe, at the major courts and cultural centres. Some of the great names of that time are Orlandus Lassus, Josquin des Prez, Adrian Willaert, Johannes Ockeghem, Jacob Obrecht, Heinrich Isaac, Guillaume Dufay and Philippus de Monte. In other arts such as tapestry weaving, typography and painting, the Flemish regions also set the tone, with leading exponents such as Rubens, Van Dyck, Brueghel, and Van Eyck. Unfortunately, this rich cultural advantage has declined over time, through numerous wars.

In this composition, music from even earlier times can also be found: Gregorian reminiscences at the beginning, a medieval dance (an Estampie) … this work is indeed based on “ancient times” although its sound is mostly contemporary. A few “witticisms” are brought into play: the ostinato in the basses (in the Estampie) for example, is based on the notes E B B A (European Brass Band Organisation), and the first harmony of the Estampie theme consists of an accumulation of fourths, using the note names that can be found in “VLAMO”, the commissioning Flemish Amateur Music Organisation (who are also in charge of the EBBC).

The original version of this work was written for brass band and has yet another dimension: Adolphe Sax is sometimes believed to have been a Frenchman, but he was born in Dinant, Belgium, where he lived for a long time before he moved to Paris. As well as the saxophone, he developed the saxhorn family -- and members of this instrumental family, such as the flugelhorn, euphonium and bass, are represented in the concert band. Although the brass band is often considered to have Anglo-Saxon roots, it is actually a phenomenon from the Low Countries. And so various old ideas from different ears have been united to form a unique mix. From Ancient Times is an important work within my oeuvre: through this piece I have made a humble effort to pay homage to a number of my musical forefathers.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Tokyo (Japan) College of Music Symphonic Wind Ensemble (Jun'ichi Hirogami, conductor) - 14 July 2021
  • Osaka (Japan) College of Music Wind Orchestra (Jan van der Roost, conductor) - 4 March 2018
  • Aulos Sinfonisches Blasorchester (Switzerland) (Jan van der Roost, conductor) - 12 October 2014
  • TAD Wind Symphony (Tokyo, Japan) (Takayoshi Suzuki, conductor) - 18 June 2010 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer