From Wind Repertory Project
Randall Standridge

Randall Standridge

This work is the first movement of the composer's The Garden Suite.

General Info

Year: 2018
Duration: c. 2:50
Difficulty: I+ (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Grand Mesa Music Publishers
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $70.00; (digital) - $70.00   |   Score Only (print) - $8.00; (digital) - $8.00


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Frog Guiros (2)
  • Marimba (4.3 octaves)
  • Rainstick
  • Slapstick (or Snare Drum)
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Temple Blocks (2)
  • Vibraslap
  • Xylophone

Sound FX (optional)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Inspired by the composer's love of Percy Aldridge Grainger, Frogs combines many "Grainger-isms" with quirky percussion and accessible rhythms and ranges to create a truly unique work. The inclusion of the "frog" and optional sound effects add the final points of charm to this work,.

- Program Note from publisher

Frogs ignites the imagination of young musicians while introducing them to unusual and sophisticated compositional techniques. Randall Standridge represents the sounds of abundant swamp life with small melodic leaps to bring jumping frogs to mind; low brass melodies to imitate bullfrogs croaking; and trills to simulate flies, gnats and other insects buzzing about. This concert work is a nod to the innovative music of Percy Aldridge Grainger. Chromaticism, unresolved moments, surprising harmonic shifts, folk dance charm and other “Graingerisms” abound in this delightful and artful composition.

- Program Note from VanderCook College of Music Symphonic Band concert program, 21 December 2018


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works