Fourth Symphony (Barnes)

From Wind Repertory Project
James Barnes

James Barnes (ed. R. Mark Rogers)

Subtitle: Yellowstone Portraits

General Info

Year: 1999 / 2001
Duration: c. 21:30
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Keiser Southern Music, through Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $190.00   |   Score Only (print) - $50.00


1. Dawn on the Yellowstone River – 10:05
2. Pronghorn Scherzo – 4:10
3. Inspiration Point : Tower Falls – 8:00


Full Score
C Piccolo I-II
Flute I-II-III (6 players)
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II-III
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III (12 players)
B-flat Bass Clarinet (2 players)
E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crotales
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Slap Stick
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam
  • Triangles (2)
  • Tubular Bells (Chimes)
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The original version, for orchestra, was commissioned for the 40th Anniversary of the Youth Orchestra of Kansas City. It was premiered by that ensemble in May 2000. The wind version was scored by Mark Rogers and was premiered by University of Alabama Wind Symphony, Gerald Welker conductor, at the 2002 CBDNA Southern Regional Conference in Atlanta, Ga.

The work is programmatic in nature. The first movement is intended to evoke the beginning of the day, in the mountains along the Yellowstone River. The opening is soft with mallet percussion, piccolos, and clarinet playing the note G followed by stepwise melodic material in the flutes. The second movement “describes the humorous and chaotic scrambling of an alerted herd of pronghorns”, according to the composer. The tempo is marked “lickety split” at 138-144 bpm in 2/4 time. The final movement begins with a fanfare of trumpets from both on and off stage. The music illustrates the Tower Falls and the overall beauty of the national park.


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works