Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Fourth Suite for Band

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Alfred Reed

Alfred Reed

Subtitle: City of Music

General Info

Year: 1993
Duration: c. 11:45
Difficulty: IV-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C.L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $160.00   |   Score Only (print) - $15.00


1. Intrada
2. Aria
3. March


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
Contrabassoon (optional)
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
B-flat Cornet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Xylophone

Brass Choir (optional)

  • B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
  • Trombone I-II-III


In parts:

  • Oboe, mvt. 3, m.21: Add f
  • Oboe I, mvt. 3, m.32: 1st note should be B-natural, not B-flat
  • English Horn, mvt. 3, m.32: 2nd note should be C-sharp, not C
  • E-flat Soprano Clarinet, mvt. 1, m.64: Add p after the diminuendo
  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II, mvt. 1, m.64: Add p after the diminuendo
  • E-flat Alto Saxophone I, mvt. 1, m.64: Add p after the diminuendo
  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone, mvt. 1, m.60: Add diminuendo to beats 2 and 3
  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone, mvt. 3, m.90: Add a courtesy natural to the second note in D
  • B-flat Cornet I-II, mvt. 1, m.86: Add an accent to the 3rd-5th notes
  • Cornet, mvt. 3, m.117: 1st beat should be "16 + 16 + 8th note", not "8 + 16 + 16th note"
  • Trombone III, mvt. 2, m.18: Should be B-flat, not D (correction based on Reed's Errata List)
  • Euphonium, mvt. 1, m.84: Add tenuto to the 3rd note
  • Tuba, mvt.2, m.18: Should be D, not B-flat (correction based on Reed's Errata List)
  • Timpani, mvt. 3, m.100,102: Add staccato

In score:

  • Oboe II, mvt. 3, m.36: Add natural to the 4th note

Program Notes

Subtitled City of Music, this impressive three-movement suite was commissioned by the City of Takasaki, Japan. The movements: Intrada, Aria, and March, all are written to challenge mature bands and this work displays why Alfred Reed’s music is a favorite of upper level groups around the world.

Fourth Suite for Band was commissioned by the City of Tahasaki, Japan, for its annual Festival of the Arts, and is dedicated to the Karasugawa Wind Orchestra, Kenichi Kodama, conductor.

- Program Note from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Perusal score
  • Reed, A. (1993). Fourth Suite: (City of Music) [score]. C.L. Barnhouse: Oskaloosa, Iowa