Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Four Pictures from New York

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Roberto Molinelli

Roberto Molinelli

General Info

Year: 2001 / 2011
Duration: c. 21:25
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Roberto Molinelli
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €84.90


1. Dreamy Dawn – 4:40
2. Tango Club – 4:45
3. Sentimental Evening – 6:25
4. Broadway Night – 5:55


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III- IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Jazz Piano
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Claves
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Hi-Hat
  • Kick Drum
  • Maracas
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Tamburello Basco
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangle
  • Whip


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The concerto Four pictures from New York, four images of the most famous and most universal metropolis of the world was written for saxophone and orchestra, now available also for wind band, inspired by the Big Apple, as it seems to the eyes of a European in love with America and its music and culture.

In Dreamy Dawn, I described the sunrise in a radiant dawn, limpid and serene but modern at the same time: the day breaks with a background of the skyscrapers of Manhattan in an enchanting spectacle. Tango Club is a piece dedicated to the grand Master of Tango Astor Piazzolla, New Yorker by adoption, written in the style of Argentinian tango, in which the rhythm is possibly more important and representative of the recent secular past, and imagined in one of the many metropolitan clubs where they play and dance to Latin-American Music.

Sentimental Evening, a jazz ballad, is surely particular for the presence of a jazz trio to accompany the saxophone soloist: in fact it is composed of three jazz players (piano, double-bass, drums) with accompaniment of strings.

The last movement, Broadway Night, represents the exciting night life that enlivens the scintillating streets of Manhattan, the giant and multicolored luminous flashing lights that make Times Square a spectacle of lights and colors, and where outside the famous Broadway theatres you live and breathe a musical atmosphere.

- Program Note by composer

Each of the four movements is played by a different saxophone: Dreamy Dawn for soprano, Tango Club for alto, Sentimental Evening for tenor with jazz trio, and Broadway Night for alto saxophone.


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Indiana University (Bloomington) Wind Ensemble (Stephen W. Pratt, conductor) – 16 February 2016

Works for Winds by This Composer