Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Four Horsemen, The (Kosch)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
John Kosch

John Kosch

Subtitle: For SATB choir and wind ensemble

General Info

Year: 2021
Duration: c. 9:45
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Manuscript
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - Unknown


1. Overture - 1:45
2. Conquest - 1:33
3. War - 1:35
4. Famine - 2:15
5. Death - 2:20


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Euphonium (optional)
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone (or Glockenspiel or Marimba)

SATB Chorus (optional solos)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Four Horsemen combines scripture with twentieth-century poetry reflecting on the themes of conquest, war, famine, and death. Although the texts are from ages past, they are still relevant today – in a sense, this piece is both a social commentary on the state of current political affairs and also a reflection on the common pitfalls of humanity throughout history. That being said, the final movement is intended to provide hope for progress, whether it is achieved through the assistance of a spiritual savior or the resilience that individuals have consistently demonstrated in times of adversity.

I offer my thanks to Dr. Scott Ricker, Dr. Shannon Shaker, and Frostburg State University for commissioning this work.

- Program Note by composer

For the students of Frostburg State University.

- Program Note from score


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Frostburg (Md.) State University Wind Ensemble (Ash Glenn, conductor) - 21 November 2021 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer