Folksong Suite

From Wind Repertory Project
Antal Farkas

Antal Farkas

General Info

Year: 2011
Duration: c. 5:30
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest
Cost: Score & parts: $89.95   |   Score Only: $9.95


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II*
English Horn*
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III*
E-flat Alto Clarinet*
B-flat Bass Clarinet*
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II*
B-flat Tenor Saxophone*
Eb Baritone Saxophone*
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Euphonium I-II (ossia: Tenor Saxhorn in Bb)
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Tuba I-II
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Basque Drum
  • Bass Drum
  • Cymbals (crash)
  • Small Drum
  • Triangle

*The parts indicated may be omitted if necessary


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This reworked edition of the Folksong Suite by Antal Farkas will help to widen the repertoire of youth ensembles and adult amateur orchestras. The composer's son, Tamás Farkas, has supplemented the score of the work, adding symphonic wind ensemble parts, and has in a number of places reworked it slightly in accordance with present-day requirements. The piece provides an enjoyable experience, helps in correcting faulty intonation, in interpreting various musical styles, in fostering a homogeneous sound, in developing technique and ensemble playing.

-Program Note from Publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.