Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Flowing Pens from Concord

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Roger Cichy

Roger Cichy

General Info

Year: 2013
Duration: c. 14:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: LudwigMasters
Cost: Score and Parts - $150.00   |   Score Only - $30.00


1. Mosses from an Old Manse (Nathanial Hawthorne) - 4:45
2. Little Women (Louisa May Alcott) - 2:44
3. Walden (Henry David Thoreau) - 4:25
4. Nature (Ralph Waldo Emerson) - 2:40


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bar Chimes
  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Cowbell
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Field Drum
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Orchestra Chimes
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tom-Tom (4)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Vibra-slap
  • Wind Chimes
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Commissioned by the Concord Band (Mass.) in celebration of its fiftieth season, this creative four-movement work was inspired by the literary work of great American authors who lived in the Concord area. The movement titled Mosses from an Old Manse, featuring a solemn horn solo at the beginning and flowing lines throughout, reflects the iconic building and its beautiful surroundings, as well as the writings and philosophies of Nathaniel Hawthorne. The animated movement Little Women, celebrating the work of Louisa May Alcott, is playful and light-hearted with changing meters and unpredictable textures. The serene movement Walden is slow and reflective, representing Henry David Thoreau’s attempts to simplify his life and connect with nature by living at Walden Pond. Included in this movement is a beautiful flute solo. The spirited movement Nature, inspired by Ralph Waldo Emerson’s philosophy of nature, includes energetic rhythms, woodwind flourishes, and a piccolo solo.

Creatively scored with interesting lines for each section and well-conceived percussion writing, the composition provides a wonderful opportunity for a collaboration with an American literature class.

-Program Note from The Instrumentalist, May 2014


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Pilato, Nikk. "Flowing Pens from Concord." In Teaching Music through Performance in Band. Volume 10, Compiled and edited by Richard Miles, 743-751. Chicago: GIA Publications, 2015.