Flight (Berk)

From Wind Repertory Project
Stacey J. Berk

Stacey J. Berk

General Info

Year: 2011
Duration: c. 12:45
Difficulty: VII (solo); VI (ensemble) (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Cocobolo Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $80.00


1. Sailplane – 5:15
2. Joyride – 7:13


Full Score
Solo Oboe
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Mark Tree
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Written in memory of my father, Flight reflects his delight in aviation as well as some joyous memories I have of him. The first movement, Sailplane, is reminiscent of a sailplane flight we shared as my very first flight. It was a lovely, soaring experience, and I can still envision the colorful farm fields below and the sound of the wind keeping the plane aloft. The second movement, Joyride, was a local flight "lesson" my siblings and I purchased for my dad upon his retirement from teaching. His laughter and excitement in describing the flight still brings a smile to my face. A slower, hymn-like section is included in this movement as both an expression of the wonder of flying as well as a nod to my father's habit of whistling hymns as he did chores around the house.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Rochester Community Concert Band (Rochester Hills, Mich.) (Paul F. DeRubeis, conductor) - 16 May 2023
  • Dordt University (Sioux Center, Iowa) Wind Symphony (Onsby Rose, conductor; Ashley Lamfers, oboe) – 3 March 2020
  • Baldwin-Wallace College (Berea, Ohio) Symphonic Band (Brendan Caldwell, conductor; Fallon Hammer, oboe) – 5 April 2019
  • Philharmonic Winds (Singapore) (Robert Casteels, conductor; Tay Kai Tze, oboe) - 27 September 2014
  • University of Wisconsin - Stevens Point Wind Ensemble (Brendan Caldwell, conductor; Nancy Ambrose King, oboe) – 21 October 2011 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer